Home

2023 Annual Meeting of the Inuit Art Society

We are working on finalizing the date and location for our 2023 Annual Meeting.

The 2022 Annual Meeting was held in Vancouver, Canada, September 29 & 30 and October 1 & 2. It was a great meeting! You can see what we did here.

 

Virtual Meetings

The IAS now holds occasional virtual meetings via zoom.

Our next meeting is scheduled for Sunday, March 5, 2023, at 8 PM Eastern, 7 PM Central,6 PM Mountain, and 5 PM Pacific time. IAS members will automatically receive a link. If you are not a member and are interested in this meeting, contact us for more information or go ahead and become a member!

Past Virtual Meetings

These included three show-and-tell presentations featuring favorite works from the collections of members of the Inuit Art Society (IAS) and the Arctic Arts and Culture Society (AACS) in Vancouver, BC, with one show-and-tell focusing on prints, carvings, and wall hangings illustrating Inuit legends.

Other meetings featured Inupiaq watercolorist Amanda Jane Davison from Elim, Alaska, Baker Lake textile artist, Eva Noah, whose grandmother was Jessie Oonark, Inuk artist David Merkuratsuk who uses pointillism in his work, and Alaskan artist Vera Shoogukwruk, a a Siberian Yupik/Inupiaq from St. Lawrence Island and White Mountain Alaska who has produced a beautiful collection of parkas, kamiks, mukluks, mittens, and jewelry. Other speakers included Michael Warren from the Madrona Gallery in Victoria, BC and Simon Griffiths, the owner of ABoriginArt, a virtual gallery located in Vancouver, BC.

 

Making Art on Top of the World

From the New York Times: Near the Arctic Circle, Shuvinai Ashoona, a star of the Venice Biennale, and her community of Inuit artists refuse to let isolation stand in their way.

Read the full story here. (Limited free access.)

Houston’s Mattiusi webisode

As usual, John Houston is busy telling the stories of the north and its people. That includes a short film that follows Mattiusi Iyaituk as he creates the “Flying Shaman” sculpture. Read more and get links in our post.